The gluten-free diet is recommended for individuals who are known to have a gluten issue or allergy or have a recognized gluten sensitivity. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley that has been identified as the source of celiac disease and other inflammatory conditions. People interested in a gluten-free diet need to avoid all foods with any wheat, rye, or barley ingredients. Gluten is typically found in breads, pastas and many processed foods. 

A Note to Our Guests

It has come to our attention that when it comes to “gluten-free” labeling, we have an opportunity to provide an even greater level of transparency. It is our intent to provide a place where our customers feel confident that we are addressing their needs in good faith.

For a limited number of items at CoreLife Eatery, aged, fermented shoyu sauce is used. This product is listed and sold as gluten-free and meets the requirements by law to be considered gluten-free, but contains wheat. In addition, CoreLife Eatery serves an optional slice of whole grain bread that is stored in a closed container at the end of our serving line.

In CoreLife Eatery’s discussions with various nutritional experts/medical professionals, we have been lead to believe that if an ingredient we purchase is sold as “gluten-free” that we were not misinforming our guests by using the term “gluten-free” relative to items made with that ingredient. 

We employ a nationally recognized third party to evaluate our recipes and menu items for allergens, nutritional facts, etc, to ensure that we are accurate with our claims. We have spent considerable time working on sourcing and understanding the needs of the many individuals with various food-related conditions. Therefore, leaving a gap in our ingredient information isn’t our desire.  

With that said, it is not our intent to mislead anyone relative to our menu offerings and the nutritional info behind them. We have been made aware that for us to best serve our audience, particularly those that have Celiac disease, notating that our shoyu sauce contains wheat (even though it’s classified as gluten-free) would be a best practice.

Moving forward, we will be indicating that certain items could contain wheat on our various menu boards, printed menus, websites, and more. We will also adjust our team training to address this issue and will remove the “all items are gluten-free” language from our training processes.

It is our goal to be transparent with our customers who have allergies and other food restrictions. We value the trust our fans have with CoreLife Eatery and want to take every opportunity to provide great tasting, scratch-made, healthy foods that power lives. 

Customer Testimonials

So many of our guests with Celiac disease, or who are on gluten-free diets, have had wonderful experiences at CoreLife Eatery. Take a look at just a few:

“We visited your Henrietta location today and were blown away by the fact that we were not singled out or hassled because my sister is Celiac. This was the first time we’ve been able to eat out without having to worry she’d be sick. We simply said, ‘Hi, she’s a celiac.’ They were gracious, professional, and one of your team members named Matt explained he would personally build her meal from beginning to end after he washed his hands and changed his gloves. We ate an amazing meal without any fear of cross contamination, and were able to enjoy it knowing my sister was safe. I can’t stress how much that means. People without Celiac Disease or food allergies just cannot comprehend how difficult and life threatening eating out can be. We’re not trying to be difficult or annoy you, we’re trying to eat safely. CoreLife Eatery gets it, and they do it PERFECTLY! Thank you!” – Kristin

I have eaten there three times already and I have Celiac‘s disease. Food is delicious, well handled and I have had zero issues. I do stick with the bone broth bowls though but they are so good and I feel confident I will not be cross contaminated or as I like to say ‘glutenated.'” – Aimee

“I am so grateful for the care and attention the staff members give me when I go to CoreLife Eatery. Having Celiac disease makes me fearful of eating out but knowing the steps Core takes, not to mention all the food choices, makes it my first choice whenever I’m in Syracuse! Thank you, CoreLife Eatery!” – Debbie